Sysinternals Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Windows Discussions > Troubleshooting
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Add Sysinternal programs to start menu

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kular Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Add Sysinternal programs to start menu
    Posted: 28 February 2008 at 8:43pm
Hello I'm new to using sysinternals programs and currently running them on windows vista ultimate.  I don't have a major problem, but because they don't "install" like normal programs do, they seem to not want to show up in the instant search from the start menu.  I downloaded the whole suite and at first placed in a folder called SYSINTERNALS in my C drive, then moved into the programs folder to see if Vista would index them there...  still they don't show up.

The files all show they are checked for indexing and archiving, but still don't show up from the start menu.  I have another program that works similarly without having to install itself called spacemonger that does show up, but strangely enough not how I thought it was.  I also have it sitting directly in my programs folder, but the copy that shows up in the instant search....  is actually sitting in a folder on my desktop in a documents and settings folder on the desktop from my other PC...

So why does vista's start menu add this little app buried inside a temporary backup folder I copied onto my desktop, but will not index or recognize these apps that are sitting directly in the programs folder?  I cannot even see the SYSINTERNALS folder when I open all programs folder view from the start menu?

Karlchen View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Karlchen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 February 2008 at 2:41am
Hi, Kular.