Sysinternals Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Sysinternals Utilities > RootkitRevealer Usage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Error dumping Software hive

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BenListening Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Error dumping Software hive
    Posted: 09 January 2006 at 4:27pm
hello folks.
I am trying to run RKR v1.6
I am a full administrator on my machine.
I have fast user switching disabled.
Machine is a dell w/XP home SP2.
I have tried from every account and
safe mode but the RKR error is always,
"SOFTWARE   0 bytes    Error dumping hive: The system cannot find the file specified."

can anybody tell me what file is missing?

Is there a manual way to move a copy of the reg hive to RKR?

Thanks.

hmmmm.....ain't never smelled THAT before.
namrehto View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote namrehto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 January 2006 at 5:46pm
It's been reported that this may somehow be due to having insufficient rights to the directory containing the RKR exe. Try unzipping into a different directory, say C:\RKR, and running from there.
Gil
BenListening View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BenListening Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 January 2006 at 4:14pm
well, namrehto....I tried your suggestion (thank you), and "SOFTWARE   0 bytes    Error dumping hive: The system cannot find the file specified." is still displayed in the results. RKR will still do a software scan, but it's comparing to an incomplete hive dump, as far as I can tell.
Before my latest attempt I :
- turned off every conceivable process using procexp v 9.25,
- physically disconnected from the internet
- shutdown ZoneAlarm Free
- disabled AVG free
- made sure MS security was disabled
- ran RKR from C://