![]() |
Ultra Surf : is NOT malware, I think ! ... |
Post Reply
|
Page <123> |
| Author | |
redhawk
Moderator Group
Joined: 14 September 2005 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Online Posts: 1049 |
Quote Reply
Topic: Ultra Surf : is NOT malware, I think ! ...Posted: 07 October 2009 at 4:53pm |
|
UltraSurf does work as claimed however like all proxies there's no such thing as safe and secure browsing since you are borrowing access from an unknown network.
As for the malware claim who can tell, proxies tend to get a bad name so it's no surprise many AV products are flagging this as bad. I've read the arguments put forward about UltraSurf but to be honest I haven't seen anything conclusive yet just speculation. Richard S. Edited by redhawk - 07 October 2009 at 6:03pm |
|
![]() |
|
PROROOTECT
Senior Member
Joined: 06 April 2008 Online Status: Offline Posts: 298 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 07 October 2009 at 9:26pm |
|
Yes, in Chinese: UltraSurf site is called wujie.net: http://www.wujie.net/
Today - English version has a problem of domains, server ... And NOW - it's OK!
""""""""""""""""""""""""""
THE reality is as follows: the millions of happy users of UltraSurf perfectly legal and safe to use.
Thank you nullptr, Spynet, Gemmashaw and others, I'm with you all.
I have compassion for those who want to promote its software - by the denigration of all other solutions that do not come from them ... Many speculation - you are right, Redhawk.
But you dsilvers, you have every right to have another opinion, I would call you instead of someone wandering ... Checkmate.
Well, stay cool, if we could all enjoy a drink, you'll quickly agree with me!
Some links for you:
* VirusTotal UltraSurf results from February, 2009: http://jonsnetwork.com/2009/02/virustotal-ultrasurf-results/
* Ultra Surf - World's best proxy surfing technology: http://rajeshrana.net/2007/08/08/ultra-surf-worlds-best-proxy-surfing-technology/
Stay cool.
P. Edited by PROROOTECT - 07 October 2009 at 11:18pm |
|
|
I remember:GMER|RootRepeal|kX-Ray|Kernel Detective|XueTr|..Sarah ah! He remembers me:AntiVir|IMMUNET PROTECT|I'm a stranger HERE..
|
|
![]() |
|
onionbubs
Newbie
Joined: 11 October 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 2:32pm |
|
If you wanna prove that Ultrasurf is not malware, download Wireshark and do some serious packet analysis. Until then, I'd rather believe a man that spoke at Blackhat who did say it's malware.
|
|
![]() |
|
ntunldr
Senior Member
Joined: 05 July 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 103 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 3:52pm |
![]() |
|
|
|
![]() |
|
onionbubs
Newbie
Joined: 11 October 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 4:26pm |
|
Like I'll ever trust advice from dot info domains...
|
|
![]() |
|
onionbubs
Newbie
Joined: 11 October 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 4:31pm |
|
From http://www.threatexpert.com/report.aspx?md5=bb97cf958f1d383e1316a0db06202e22:
* The newly created Registry Values are: o [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings] + Lwzihkjv = 0x00000617 o [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\3] + CurrentLevel = 00 00 00 00 + 1C00 = 00 00 00 00 * The following Registry Value was deleted: o [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\3] + CurrentLevel = 0x00000000 + 1C00 = 0x00010000 --- Aha... this piece of software messes with your security settings. That should raise a red flag immediately. |
|
![]() |
|
ntunldr
Senior Member
Joined: 05 July 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 103 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 4:37pm |
|
Personally I don't believe that UltraSerf is malware. However I would never trust any software of such class without source code, no matter contains it potential backdoors or not. Especially protected by VmProt (regarding to wilderssecurity thread) - #1 choice of crapware.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
onionbubs
Newbie
Joined: 11 October 2009 Online Status: Offline Posts: 5 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 11 October 2009 at 8:30pm |
|
Then where does UltraSurf get the money to maintain these proxies?
|
|
![]() |
|
dsilvers
Newbie
Joined: 22 January 2008 Online Status: Offline Posts: 24 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 13 October 2009 at 8:35pm |
|
[QUOTE=PROROOTECT]Yes, in Chinese: UltraSurf site is called wujie.net: http://www.wujie.net/
Today - English version has a problem of domains, server ... And NOW - it's OK!
""""""""""""""""""""""""""
THE reality is as follows: the millions of happy users of UltraSurf perfectly legal and safe to use.
Thank you nullptr, Spynet, Gemmashaw and others, I'm with you all.
I have compassion for those who want to promote its software - by the denigration of all other solutions that do not come from them ... Many speculation - you are right, Redhawk.
But you dsilvers, you have every right to have another opinion, I would call you instead of someone wandering ... Checkmate.
Well, stay cool, if we could all enjoy a drink, you'll quickly agree with me!
Some links for you:
* VirusTotal UltraSurf results from February, 2009: http://jonsnetwork.com/2009/02/virustotal-ultrasurf-results/
* Ultra Surf - World's best proxy surfing technology: http://rajeshrana.net/2007/08/08/ultra-surf-worlds-best-proxy-surfing-technology/
Stay cool.
P.
Your first link looks like a download site in Chinese. It's not a language I speak or read. Your second link from Johnsnetwork identifies three AV's that flag Ultrasoft as malware. My previous post had already pointed out that several AV's were detecting it as malware. Your third link from softonic says Ultrasoft can be run from a USB and that you can use Firefox. Other than that I didn't get much out of it. If you were trying to make a point I don't understand what it was. Your last link, rajeshrna, is a fanboy site where most of the posters want a download link. Much of it is old, dated 2007. I assume that your thinking is if everyone else doing it I should also. I don't think so. I realize English is not your first language and I admire those who can accomplish mastering multiple languages. However, my reference to Kool aid in an earlier post related to Jim Jones and his followers at Guyana. He gave his followers kool aid laced with poison. It was a vain attempt at humor and not an olive branch. My apology for any misunderstanding. It would have been more appropriate to say, "Don't drink the Kool aid". |
|
![]() |
|
PROROOTECT
Senior Member
Joined: 06 April 2008 Online Status: Offline Posts: 298 |
Quote Reply
Posted: 13 October 2009 at 10:19pm |
|
Dear dsilvers,
I've passed the link from jonsnetwork.com - to show you the positive evolution on the FP (false positives) by some antivirus, with time:
3/13/2008: 9 FP
2/26/2009: 3 FP
GOOD drink, dsilvers.
And Rajeshrana says: UltraSurf is 100% Freedom, and best in comparison with others.
(... download the latest version 9.5 of UltraSurf, from original site, please).
Another GOOD drink, with recent olive branch.
Stay Cool,
PROROOTECT
|
|
|
I remember:GMER|RootRepeal|kX-Ray|Kernel Detective|XueTr|..Sarah ah! He remembers me:AntiVir|IMMUNET PROTECT|I'm a stranger HERE..
|
|
![]() |
|
Post Reply
|
Page <123> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |