Sysinternals Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Sysinternals Utilities > BgInfo
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Need the bginfo setting for all users

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Elena Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Need the bginfo setting for all users
    Posted: 21 July 2005 at 4:55am

Hello

I'm a admin of a school windows server 2003 system. On this system I have 6 different users without admin permissions.

I would like to make BGINFO.exe for all users, how I must edit the settings?

Thank you in advance for any your answers.

I appreciate it!

So long

Elena

fusion121 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fusion121 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 July 2005 at 6:06am

Hi All,

I have a similar requirement.

I am the network administrator of a 2000 user school and would like to have BGInfo deployed to all desktops and laptops in the school to make support abit easier.

My questions are as follows:

1 - Can BGInfo be run for users without admin rights
2 - If the answer to question 1 is no then is it possible under windows XP to make BGInfo "RunAs" the administrator
3 - I guess this is the big one, I have not really looked at the licence info (I guess I should really) but am I allowed to deploy BGInfo to 2000 desktops.

Anyhelp would be great

Regards,

Ozzie

Rickd View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rickd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 July 2005 at 8:31am

BGINfo can be run without Local Admin... various methods of displaying ouput as seen in help files... Prob the easiest method of installation for multiple users would be to create a batch file such as:

@echo off

c:\bginfo\bginfo.exe c:\bginfo\mycustomsettings.bgi /timer:0

and copy it to c:\Documents and settings\All users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp.